Facebook-owned IM WhatsApp gets a new feature that allows users to delete sent messages from group as well as individual chats. The new feature called ‘Delete for Everyone’ is now rolling out across Android, iOS, as well as Windows Phone platforms.

As the name suggests, the new Delete for Everyone feature comes in handy in situations when users accidentally send messages to the wrong person or group, or if the message contains an error.

The company says that messages sent that have been deleted will be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in the recipient’s chat. It works in the same way for group chats where participants will see ‘This message was deleted’, implying the sender has deleted the message sent for everyone.

To use the Delete for Everyone feature, make sure you have the latest version WhatsApp installed your device. Similarly, even recipient must ensure they have the latest version of the app downloaded on their smartphone in order for this feature to work.

To delete the sent message, select the message you want to delete and then tap on the trash icon, after which you’ll see the Delete for Everyone option’ within the dialogue box. Once you tap on the Delete for Everyone option in the dialogue box, you’ll see the message sent being replaced with ‘You deleted the message’.

Readers are reminded again that in order for this feature to work, both recipient and the sender must ensure they have the latest version of WhatsApp installed on their device.

The new Delete for Everyone brings another subtle change within WhatsApp. As the company has renamed the standard delete option with Delete for Me. That being said, it works as before and lets users delete the message they’ve received or sent from their phone without changing anything on the recipients end.